Skip to content

Text, too much text.

February 23, 2014

Not too sure where this week went, probably somewhere nice I believe.

I had a nice break from the gym from Wednesday to Saturday noon, as Thursday and Friday was spent doing double-shifts at one of my jobs. Time tends to go very quickly but everything else in life seems to be frozen somehow, when you work more than 12 hours.

It’s nice to keep busy, I prefer doing longer shifts but then working maybe one or two days less during that week.

This suits me perfectly because I’ve had enough time to plan, construct workout/weight-loss programmes for a few new clients but also doing 50 % at my dad’s company.

Right, this is a blog/platform mainly about training and everything else that actually is related to just that, Training.

Leg training is something that I have not put that much of a focus into lately, except some Deadlifting as I find them primal and very satisfying.  In ways that is not explainable.

I have done this mainly of two reasons,

The first of those is that I don’t really want much bigger legs, I know, not that big at all but with my preferences they are the perfect size at the moment. Thus not killing them on a weekly basis, but also giving them some rest to see how this affects muscle definition.

I find it very hard to get my thighs to match the rest of my body in muscle separation and looks, but they have been improving very well since my Thailand tip. This pleases me greatly, yes.

The second reason is that I realised in Thailand that I was rather fed up with my old 3 x week split doing only compound exercises, I felt it was time to start doing something new, refreshing and fun!

Hence I am now working to improve my strength and functionality in body-weight exercises such as the pull-up, chin-up, dips, Wall-handstands and working my way towards the epic movement called;

–          The Muscle Up

This is basically a pull-up transforming into a dip and require killer strength and co-ordination!

I been talking about how important it is to do whatever type of training that you personally find rewarding and fun, otherwise there is no point doing it.

Stop caring about everyone saying that you HAVE to Squat like a crazy-person two times a week otherwise you look week and are a pussy. You shall of course train legs; they are a very important piece of your body and muscular system and also provide you with great hormonal boosts when trained.

Just make sure you find it fun and strengthening, just not only muscular-wise but mentally too.

 

 

This resulted in me trying out different amounts of workouts per week, how many times per week I put the same muscles under stress and amount of rest between sets to new a few things.

My pull-ups have improved pretty well actually; I’ve found the perfect grip-width to activate my back and arms in a nice symbiosis.

–          Improved strength and explosiveness throughout the movement.

–          Increased my form and technique during all repetitions up to my max of 13 reps.

I also tried the dip out by using two barbells in the squat rack, enabling me to dip with my toes a few inches in front of my hips. Not hyper extending my back which is very easily done if you perform the dip with crossed legs and a 90 degree angle in the knees.

New goals and thoughts on my training simply noted up;

–          20 bad ass repetitions of Pull-ups

–          Crazy strong core

–          Improve flexibility in my upper-back, trunk and over-head reaching.

  • Using – Becoming a supple Leopard – book

–          Awesome looking physique in time for summer, June.

–          Grow my Personal Training/Coaching brand bigger and help more people become healthier and lead greater life’s.

–          Further increase my knowledge within the nutritional area & more sports specific improvement programming.

–          Enjoy every single workout

 

That’s me for this Sunday, 23 February 2014,

Plunging into a warm relaxing bath

lt-fb-orginal

From → Training

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

