Skip to content

Progressions all over the place!

April 30, 2013

Right, so I know that I’ve been saying more than a couple of times that my training is going really well and is so much fun.

But this feels insane, I keep increasing my weights from session to session – with the deadlifts as an exception but I am not that concerned about it.

It all feels great, everything is flowing smooth like jasmine flower floating down the river somewhere in distant China…

The only small changes that I’ve done is that I have been limiting carbs at around 300-350 grams on workout days and decreasing the amount in the first sitting just a tiny bit. Then I have started to rest only 1.5 minutes between sets and 2-3 minutes between exercises, this small change in intensity have probably increased the overall overload by just an inch or two, which probably have made all the difference!

I had an awesome workout today, half of it together with Jason who works at the gym then I continued lone-wolf.

PS – For anyone who might be interested about help with nutrition plans and workout programme planning, I will soon be done with my Personal Trainer diploma and certified – and I will be doing online coaching/programme as well – Just to let you know!

1 hour Pre-workout nutrition:

  • 5 slices of Ryvita crisp bread
  • 15 ml Rowse Honey
  • 25 grams Whey

Workout: 55 minutes without the warm-up and cool-down accounted for.

  • Barbell Bench Press:
    • 20 kg x 7 reps
    • 20 kg x 7 reps
    • 60 kg x 5 reps
    • 80 kg x 3 reps
    • 92.5 kg x 5 reps
    • 90 kg x 5 reps
    • 80 kg x 7 reps
    • 65 kg x 8 reps
  • Pull-Up:
    • 15 reps
    • 7 reps
    • 7 reps
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench Press:
    • 28 kg x 12 reps
    • 28 kg x 7 reps
  • Dips – Triceps Version:
    • 4 reps
    • 8 reps || weighted || 30 kg
    • 8 reps || weighted || 20 kg
    • 10 reps
  • Incline Dumbbell Flyes:
    • 14 kg x 10 reps
    • 14 kg x 8 reps
  • Bent Over Two-Dumbbell Row:
    • 18 kg x 10 reps
    • 18 kg x 10 reps
    • 18 kg x 10 reps
photo (2)

Keep it simple, tweak important stuff instead of looking too “deep” into the whole fitness thing.

From → Training

7 Comments
  1. How do you think about ending a 8 hour window with a workout?
    LeanGain suggests ending the fast with a work out, but i have a job and the schedule doesn’t simply fit for me
    So i eat breakfast at 8, lunch 12, dinner 5 and then play tennis till 6pm..
    and i dont eat after that.
    i’m not sure if i can skip breakfast haha i was so much of a breakfast-person

    Thanks!
    MMK

    • I do not think it is a problem, but I do really think you should at least eat something after your workout.

      You don’t have to do the big big meal post workout as in Leangains, as it is not something magical.

      Try to get some protein and a nice mix of carbs 1-2 hours before going to bed,

      • thanks for your reply !
        but don’t you think that’s going to push my 8 hr window a few hours, and end up not being able to have breakfast?
        I’d rather have breakfast then having to have something after workout..
        i guess it depends on personal choice? thank you !

      • No worries, my pleasure! How intense is the training/tennis session? Sometimes I have a 9 hour window of eating, just to suit my life too :)

      • i just play tennis for 30-50 minutes
        and another our of pilates twice a week (tue/thurs)

  2. i used to do weight training, but i found myself craving for more food :/

    • Ah alright, weight training is the best way for weight loss though :) Why not skip breakfast and eat a little bit later? Then you could eat after your workout!

Leave a Reply

