Skip to content

My way of doing some things

March 31, 2013

During the very nice power-walk I just finished, I had some time to think about the blog:

As it is a blog about my life, food, random training stuff and most important, my training and how I do it – I think it is time to more actively write my sessions down so those who are interested in changing their current routine, find inspiration or just want to see how another fitness lover works out, can actually do just that.

Yesterdays session looked like this:

  • Barbell Bench Press:
    • 20 kg x 14 reps
    • 60 kg x 5 reps
    • 80 kg x 3 reps
    • 90 kg x 1 reps
    • 100 kg x 1 reps
    • 100 kg x 1 reps
    • 90 kg x 3 reps
    • 80 kg x 5 reps
  • Dips – Triceps Version:
    • 7 reps || weighted || 15 kg
    • 7 reps || weighted || 15 kg
    • 15 reps
    • 12 reps
  • Chin-Up: Palms facing you, shoulder width.
    • 12 reps
    • 12 reps
    • 7 reps
    • 5 reps
  • Pull-Up: Palms away from you, bit wider than shoulders.
    • 8 reps
    • 10 reps
    • 7 reps
  • Close-Grip Standing Barbell Curl:
    • 17.5 kg x 15 reps
    • 17.5 kg x 30 reps
    • 17.5 kg x 30 reps
    • 17.5 kg x 30 reps

In overall I just felt that I did not have 100% in me in terms of strength, but I’m still happy with the session itself. It was good to actually hit some more high rep ranges for once, as it produces a freakishly good pump and veins popping all over the place after a while!

Most probably did my Friday in terms of food not help at all, I had 20 grams of Whey isolate around 1 PM just before my shift at SNOG to elevate the protein synthesis, In other words I’m trying to maximize the potential event of muscle growth throughout the day without activating the parasympathetic nervous system  and keep myself in the Sympathetic nervous system whilst working as this will keep my alertness, energy and focus to 100% throughout the day.

I then broke my fast at around 5.30 PM with 650 grams of Pork Ribs, 450 grams of meat without the bones and 150 grams of boiled sweet potato to add some fibre and low GI carbohydrates.

Finished at 9:15 PM I just grabbed some eggs at Tesco, (30 of them) and went back home to cook a pretty bad ass omelette;

  • 4 Eggs
  • 125 grams of mozzarella
  • 60 grams of 12% fat cheese
  • Spinach
  • 150 grams of Sweet potato

I just whisked the Eggs, added some water and poured it into a non-stick pan on low/medium heat and covered it for some minutes.

Then just add the mozzarella thinly sliced first, then top it with cubes of sweet potato, spinach and sprinkle the regular cheese on top, let it cook for some time and then fold it and wait a few minutes, letting the cheese get real cheesy!

This means that I probably depleted my glycogen storages pretty good during the day standing, walking and moving which does not really create an optimal environment for strength training. Not an excuse, more like an explanation why.

After this Gym session I just went back west to have some Easter foods with Kix and Robin, I ate some…

Pre first meal snack and the first meal;

Snacks, 2 apples, 30 grams of Whey, blood grapefruit, grapes.

  • 1.5 kilogram whole oven-roasted Chicken
  • 450 grams of Sweet potato Fries
  • 125 gram mozzarella + cheese

Then treating myself with ½ an Cadbury big Easter Egg, Pizza left overs, Hot chocolate fudge cake, Apple, more chocolate, banana…

You get the point, I like to eat, a lot.

After such a meal I’m actually quite sick of the thought of eating food again, for some hours…

That’s why I usually just fast until late afternoon the day after, to reset hunger, insulin sensitivity (which gets worse, the more often you eat throughout the day) – This might seem like a weird thing to do, not to eat anything except having water and black coffee for 18-20 hours?!

It works out a treat for me, then I’ll just have one big meal later in the day and a small evening snack before bed.

That’s me done for this time, I hope I made someone feel a bit less bad about their eating habits this weekend after looking on what I ate … haha

From → Life, Training

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

