Skip to content

Adapting your workouts

March 11, 2013

What to do if you unexpectedly get injured or  life in general changes over night?

You always have to be prepared to change your ways of working out, the time of your sessions, days, the set up of the programme itself etc.

There are hundreds of possible factors that can and will influence/change your way of training, it’s just waiting to happen.

For me the adaptation I needed to do is due to my bruised heel that’s still not ready to pound on with either deadlifts or squats yet, so, I had to come up with a different plan…

My good beloved 3 day split with a minimalistic approach had to go for a while due to this struggle with my heel, so did Interval sprints…

This is what I came up with:

2 or 3 sessions a week, that are more of an whole-body approach, I’m keeping the reverse pyramid training style though, as I have never been this strong in my current body weight, I’m actually stronger in many exercises now than I was when I was weighing in at 95 kilograms, which says quite a lot.

Whole-body killer :-)

5 minute warm-up – Cross-trainer/Stationary Bike ~ 125-130 BPM

Bench Press – 2 warm up sets, 3 working sets – RPT

Leg Extensions: 2 warm up, 2 working sets – RPT / 5>10 reps

Seated Leg Curl: 2 warm up, 2-3 working sets – RPT 5>10 reps

Chin-up: 1 Body weight warm up set, 3 working sets with extra weight, RPT 5>10 maximum

Incline Dumbbell Bench Press – 1 warm up, 3 working sets – RPT 4>10 maximum

Dips: 1 warm up, 2 working sets with extra weight, 1 working set bodyweight – RPT 5>8-10

Hanging Straight Leg Raises: 2 working sets, 8-12 repetitions

One-Arm Dumbbell Row: 4 working sets, 1 set = 1 side of rows

Standing Barbell Shoulder Press: 4 working sets – 6-10 repetitions

Dumbbell Side Lateral Raises: 4 working sets – 8-10 Repetitions

There you have it, try it out once if you are feeling that any programme of yours feels dull or boring, or just add some other extra stuff and keep your rest intervals in between the 1.30-2.30 minute range for optimal strength recovery!

As seen, I’ve kept the exercises very similar to the other 3 day split to be able to track my progression easy and smooth.

About progression, another Personal Best flew up today during Incline DB bench press, 38 kilo on each side, 76 kilograms in total for 5 reps which I’m very happy with!

I also did my first day of volunteering at the gym I workout at, I will be shadowing the PT’s and evaluating 5 different sessions of theirs to finish off my level 2 certificate, so an exciting week ahead of me!

Now reading about Anatomy & Physiology, eating chicken & rice and some more food to recover!

Anatomybody

From → Training

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

